Hillbrush is proud to be celebrating its centenary year, reflecting on a rich heritage and bright future as the company diversifies with the times.
Hillbrush was founded in 1922 by brothers Fred and Bill Coward and is still family owned and run from the small rural town of Mere in Wiltshire. The company originally manufactured brushes for the dairy and agricultural industries and, in 1952, Her Majesty The Queen visited Hillbrush during a trip to the local area. In 1981 Hillbrush was granted a Royal Warrant to supply traditional brushes to the Royal Households and retains the Warrant to this day.
In the 1980s the business diversified and, through innovation and product development, it successfully introduced a range of plastic backed brushes for use in the food and beverage industries. In 2016 Hillbrush moved site, still in Mere, to a new, purpose built and state of the art facility enabling them to manufacture the broad range of brushes now on offer. The new site also houses the ‘Visit Hillbrush’ visitor centre combining a boutique gift shop, restaurant serving delicious home-made dishes and a fascinating – and completely unique - brush museum!